Faculty and Staff

Electrical Engineering at Colorado School of Mines

Faculty

Peter Aaen

Peter Aaen

Professor, Department Head
Brown Hall 310D
303-384-2245
paaen@mines.edu

Abd Arkadan

Abd Arkadan

Teaching Professor
& Graduate Faculty
Brown Hall 310E
303-273-3742
aaarkadan@mines.edu

Stephanie Claussen

Stephanie Claussen

Teaching Professor
Engineering Annex 128
303-273-3462
sclausse@mines.edu

Chris Coulston

Chris Coulston

Teaching Associate Professor
Brown Hall 310F
303-273-3265
coulston@mines.edu

Vibhuti Dave

Vibhuti Dave

Teaching Professor
Brown Hall 280D
303-273-3670
vdave@mines.edu

Atef Elsherbeni

Atef Elsherbeni

Professor, Dobelman Distinguished Chair
Brown Hall 310D
303-273-3667
aelsherb@mines.edu

Mohammed Hadi

Mohammed Hadi

Research Professor
Brown Hall 314A
303-273-8224
mhadi@mines.edu

Randy Haupt

Randy Haupt

Professor
Brown Hall 327C
303-273-3721
rhaupt@mines.edu

Kathryn Johnson

Kathryn Johnson

Associate Professor
Brown Hall 327F
303-273-3914
kjohnson@mines.edu

Salman Mohagheghi

Salman Mohagheghi

Associate Professor
Brown Hall 314D
303-273-3501
smohaghe@mines.edu

Kevin Moore

Kevin Moore

Professor
Vice Provost for Strategic Initiatives
Dean of Integrative Programs
Engineering Hall 215
303-273-3898
kmoore@mines.edu

Payam Nayeri

Payam Nayeri

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall 314F
303-273-3960
pnayeri@mines.edu

Jeff Schowalter

Jeff Schowalter

Teaching Professor and Assistant Department Head
Brown Hall 327B
303-273-3673
jschowal@mines.edu

PK Sen

PK Sen

Professor
Brown Hall 320
303-384-2020
psen@mines.edu

Marcelo Simoes

Marcelo Simoes

Professor
Brown Hall 314E
303-384-2350
msimoes@mines.edu

Gongguo Tang

Gongguo Tang

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall 327A
303-384-2468
gtang@mines.edu

Tyrone Vincent

Tyrone Vincent

Professor
Brown Hall 327D
303-273-3641
tvincent@mines.edu

Michael Wakin

Michael Wakin

Professor
Brown Hall 327E
303-273-3607
mwakin@mines.edu

Our Research

Antenna and Wireless Communications

The Electrical Engineering Department has an internationally recognized faculty (two IEEE and ACES fellows) in the antennas and wireless communications areas with diverse but closely related interests and expertise in computational electromagnetics, electromagnetic radiation and scattering, antennas and antenna arrays, microwave circuits, radar, remote sensing, electromagnetic measurements,

Affiliate Faculty

Emeritus Faculty

Max Billington

Adjunct
Brown Hall 314H
303-273-3650
mbillington@rmhgroup.com

Cathy Skokan

Emerita Associate Professor
cskokan@mines.edu

Ravel Ammerman

Ravel Ammerman

Emeritus Teaching Professor
Brown Hall 314G
303-273-3686
rammerma@mines.edu

Staff

Martha Sanchez-Hayre

Program Administrator
Brown Hall 310C
303-384-2465
marsanch@mines.edu

Darren McSweeney

Darren McSweeney

Electronics and Computing Support Manager
Brown Hall 317
303-384-2064
dmcsweeney@mines.edu

Ben Moore
Undergraduate Program Manager

Brown Hall W275
303-384-2394
benmoore@mines.edu
Dorothy Cheng

Graduate Program Manager
Brown Hall W275
303-273-3658
eegrad@mines.edu

Shanell Lopez

ACES Administrative Assistant
Brown Hall 310A
303-273-3864
salopez@mines.edu

#4 Top 25 Brainiest Colleges, #1 in Colorado (Lumosity, 2019)

2 faculty fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society

piggy bank#1 for career return on investment (Georgetown University, 2019), #2 best college value (Money Magazine, 2018)

student icon#2 in combining scholarly research and classroom instruction (Wall Street Journal, 2016)

teacher icon19:1 student-faculty ratio