Faculty and Staff

Electrical Engineering at Colorado School of Mines

Faculty

Peter Aaen

Peter Aaen

Professor,
Department Head
Brown Hall 310D
303-384-2245
paaen@mines.edu

Abd Arkadan

Abd Arkadan

Teaching Professor,
Graduate Faculty
Brown Hall 327B
303-273-3742
aaarkadan@mines.edu

Chris Coulston

Chris Coulston

Teaching Professor
Brown Hall 310E
303-273-3265
coulston@mines.edu

Vibhuti Dave

Vibhuti Dave

Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Teaching Professor
Alderson Hall 451C
303-273-3670
vdave@mines.edu

Mohamad El Hariri

Mohamad El Hariri

Assistant Professor
Brown Hall 314E
303-384-2350
melhariri@mines.edu

Atef Elsherbeni

Atef Elsherbeni

Professor
Brown Hall 314C
303-273-3667
aelsherb@mines.edu

Kathryn Johnson

Kathryn Johnson

Professor
Brown Hall 327F
303-273-3914
kjohnson@mines.edu

Salman Mohagheghi

Salman Mohagheghi

Associate Professor
Brown Hall 314D
303-273-3501
smohaghe@mines.edu

Kevin Moore

Kevin Moore

Executive Director,
Professor
Engineering Hall 215
303-273-3898
kmoore@mines.edu

Hisham Sager

Hisham Sager

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall 327A
303-384-2468
hsager@mines.edu

Tyrone Vincent

Tyrone Vincent

Professor
Brown Hall 327D
303-273-3641
tvincent@mines.edu

Michael Wakin

Michael Wakin

Professor
Brown Hall 327E
303-273-3607
mwakin@mines.edu

Our Research

Antenna and Wireless Communications

The Electrical Engineering Department has an internationally recognized faculty (two IEEE and ACES fellows) in the antennas and wireless communications areas with diverse but closely related interests and expertise in computational electromagnetics, electromagnetic radiation and scattering, antennas and antenna arrays, microwave circuits, radar, remote sensing, electromagnetic measurements and more.

Emeriti Faculty

Ravel Ammerman

Emeritus Teaching Professor
rammerma@mines.edu

Jeff Schowalter

Emeritus Teaching Professor
jschowal@mines.edu

PK Sen

Emeritus Professor
psen@mines.edu

Marcelo Simoes

Emeritus Professor
msimoes@mines.edu

Cathy Skokan

Emerita Associate Professor
cskokan@mines.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Max Billington

Max Billington

Adjunct

Steven Berry

steven berry

Adjunct

Mohammed Hadi

Mohammed Hadi

Adjunct

Erik Johnson

erik johnson

Adjunct

Steven Berry

AHMED MOHAMED

Adjunct

Steven Berry

adarsh nagarajan

Adjunct

Ahmed Zamzam

Ahmed Zamzam

Adjunct

Staff

Martha Sanchez-Hayre

Department Manager
Brown Hall 310C
303-384-2465
marsanch@mines.edu

Darren McSweeney

Darren McSweeney

Electronics and Computing Support Manager
Brown Hall 317
303-384-2064
dmcsweeney@mines.edu

Taylor Bickford

EE Undergraduate Academic Advising Coordinator
Aspen Hall 208
303-384-2623
thase@mines.edu

Kelsie Diaz, GR Program Manager

KELSIE DIAZ

Graduate Program Manager
Brown Hall 312
303-384-2750
kdiaz@mines.edu

From the Department Head

Between our high-caliber faculty, excellent faculty-to-student ratio, cutting-edge labs and equipment and strong ties to research centers and industry, Mines' electrical engineering programs are a great choice for students who want to be leaders in the field today and in the future

Peter Aaen
Professor and Department Head

#4 Top 25 Brainiest Colleges, #1 in Colorado (Lumosity, 2019)

6 faculty fellows of the professional organization IEEE

teacher icon19:1 student-faculty ratio

student icon#2 in combining scholarly research and classroom instruction (Wall Street Journal, 2016)

piggy bank#1 for career return on investment (Georgetown University, 2019), #2 best college value (Money Magazine, 2018)