Faculty and Staff

Electrical Engineering at Colorado School of Mines

Faculty

Peter Aaen

Peter Aaen

Professor,
Department Head
Brown Hall 310D
303-384-2245
paaen@mines.edu

Abd Arkadan

Abd Arkadan

Teaching Professor and Graduate Faculty
Brown Hall 330E
303-273-3742
aaarkadan@mines.edu

Omid Beik

Omid Beik

Assistant Professor,
Brown Hall 314E
303-384-2737
beik@mines.edu

Chris Coulston

Chris Coulston

Teaching Professor
Brown Hall 310E
303-273-3265
coulston@mines.edu

Vibhuti Dave

Vibhuti Dave

Dean of Undergraduate Studies and Teaching Professor
Alderson Hall 451C
303-273-3670
vdave@mines.edu

Atef Elsherbeni

Atef Elsherbeni

Professor
Brown Hall 314C
303-273-3667
aelsherb@mines.edu

Qiuhua Huang

Qiuhua Huang

Associate Professor
Brown Hall 314F
303-273-3960
qiuhuahuang@mines.edu

Kathryn Johnson

Kathryn Johnson

Professor
Ben L. Fryrear Endowed Chair for Innovation and Excellence
Joint Appointee, National Renewable Energy Laboratory's National Wind Technology Center
Brown Hall 330K
303-273-3914
kjohnson@mines.edu

Josue Prado

Josue Prado

Teaching Assistant Professor,
Brown Hall


Salman Mohagheghi

Salman Mohagheghi

Associate Professor
Brown Hall 314D
303-273-3501
smohaghe@mines.edu

Kevin Moore

Kevin Moore

Professor
Engineering Hall 215
303-273-3898
kmoore@mines.edu

Yamuna Phal

Yamuna Phal

Assistant Professor,
Brown Hall BB 330D
303-384-2191
yphal@mines.edu

Hisham Sager

Hisham Sager

Teaching Assistant Professor
Brown Hall 330G
303-273-2468
hsager@mines.edu

Gabriel Santamaria-Botello

Gabriel Santamaria-Botello

Assistant Professor,
Brown Hall 310F
303-384-2744
Gabriel.SantamariaBotello@mines.edu

Prachi Sharma

Prachi Sharma

Associate Teaching Professor,
Brown Hall 330L
303-384-2221
prachi.sharma@mines.edu

Sihua Shao

Sihua Shao

Assistant Professor,
Brown Hall


Tyrone Vincent

Tyrone Vincent

Professor
Brown Hall 330N
303-273-3641
tvincent@mines.edu

Michael Wakin

Michael Wakin

Professor
Brown Hall 330F
303-273-3607
mwakin@mines.edu

Our Research

Antenna and Wireless Communications

The Electrical Engineering Department has an internationally recognized faculty (two IEEE and ACES fellows) in the antennas and wireless communications areas with diverse but closely related interests and expertise in computational electromagnetics, electromagnetic radiation and scattering, antennas and antenna arrays, microwave circuits, radar, remote sensing, electromagnetic measurements and more.

Emeriti Faculty

Ravel Ammerman

Emeritus Teaching Professor
rammerma@mines.edu

Jeff Schowalter

Emeritus Teaching Professor
jschowal@mines.edu

PK Sen

Emeritus Professor
psen@mines.edu

Marcelo Simoes

Emeritus Professor
msimoes@mines.edu

Cathy Skokan

Emerita Associate Professor
cskokan@mines.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Steven Berry

steven berry

Adjunct

Erik Johnson

erik johnson

Adjunct

Steven Berry

Ahmed Mohamed

Adjunct

Steven Berry

ART MORRIS

Adjunct

Steven Berry

Jing Wang

Adjunct

Visiting Scholars

 

Hassan Aldeeb

Visiting from Libya

Staff

 

Taylor Bickford

Taylor Bickford

Department Manager,
Brown Hall 310C
303-384-2465
THase@mines.edu

Carter Kubic

Carter Kubic

Administrative Assistant
Brown Hall 310C
303-273-3661
Carter.Kubic@mines.edu

Kelsie Diaz

Kelsie Diaz

Graduate Program Manager
Brown Hall 312
303-384-2750
kdiaz@mines.edu

Kate McLaughlin

Kate McLaughlin

Lab Coordinator,
Brown Hall 330B
303-384-2064
katrina.mclaughlin@mines.edu

Paula Prentice

CASA Advisor
Aspen 208
303-384-2623
paula.prentice@mines.edu

From the Department Head

Between our high-caliber faculty, excellent faculty-to-student ratio, cutting-edge labs and equipment and strong ties to research centers and industry, Mines' electrical engineering programs are a great choice for students who want to be leaders in the field today and in the future

Peter Aaen
Professor and Department Head

#4 Top 25 Brainiest Colleges, #1 in Colorado (Lumosity, 2019)

6 faculty fellows of the professional organization IEEE

teacher icon19:1 student-faculty ratio

student icon#2 in combining scholarly research and classroom instruction (Wall Street Journal, 2016)

piggy bank#1 for career return on investment (Georgetown University, 2019), #2 best college value (Money Magazine, 2018)